Skip to main content

University of BMX by Gerrit Does

History of BMX (2015 - 2016)

Year 2015.

March 7th. - 8th., International BMX Indoor de Tours - France, the 22nd. edition.

On March 7th. and 8th. the longest running indoor in Europe took place. The International BMX Indoor de Tours - France, took place for the 22nd time, the only remaining CLASSIC BMX EVENT from the 80's (first event took place in 1983). The other CLASSIC events were the E.C.C. / European Challenge Cup at Slagharen in Holland and the International Indoor Palais Omnisport de Bercy - Paris, in France. Both latest mentioned events seized to exsist years ago.

After a break in organizing the Indoor de Tour of 9 years, now this prestegious event is back. Since BMX has some history now, there will be Old School activities and a BMX Museum was in place. Three Pioneer well known BMX racers will attend this event on the Saturday evening. Hope to have some pictures available soon for you all.

KIMMANN Niek (Holland)

2015 World Champion

2016 World Champion

2018 World Cup

2019 European Champion

2019 World Cup

2021 Olympic Champion

2021 World Champion

Nominations 2015

The 2015 nominations for the European BMX Hall of Fame by the UNIVERSITY of BMX.

D.5 European BMX Hall of Fame nominations 2015

Category AA:

Nominations will be made after the 2016 Olympic Championships in BMX in Brasil

Category A1:

The nominees from the 2015 UCI World Championships in Zolder - Belgium, are the following Champions coming from Europe:

One European rider won an Elite World Championship title.
Elite Men:  Niek Kimman - Holland

Category A2:

2015 UCI Supercross World Cup Series overall winners:

Elite men: 

Category A3:

The nominees from the 2015 UCI European Championships are the following Champions:

Elite men: Twan van Gendt - Holland
Elite women:  Elke Vanhoof - Belgium

Category A4:

Pioneer rider(s) nominated.

NO nomination(s) at this time

Category B1:

Pioneer (non racers) nomination(s):

NO nomination(s) at this time

Category B2:

Organizers/promoters of European Top events:

NO nomination(s) at this time

Category C:

European National Teams or Manufacturer Teams winning a team World title;

NO nomination(s) at this time


Updated Waalre, September 2015.

Remark: all nominees mentioned have been inducted November 2015.




















Induction: all nominees mentioned above, have been inducted in December 2014.